Empyre: Debut album Self Aware released on 5th July, 2019

Self Aware cover.jpg

Empyre is thrilled to announce the release of the debut album “Self Aware” on 5th July 2019. In addition, the band will release their first single “Too Little Too Late” on 19th April 2019.

Hailing from Northampton, the atmospheric rock four-piece is ready to present a truly accomplished first record. Filled without fillers, “Self Aware” is a collection of 11 outstanding tracks, in which each song individually showcases a band with skillful songwriting and a bold sound. 

Every song on this album has its own personality, and an underlining and unifying soundscape ties all the tracks together, fusing the roots of the style's tradition with a unique musical edge, creating a distinctive, dark and introspective rock.

From the gritty opener “My Bad” to the heavier and more intense “New Republic”; from the dramatic “Too Close” to the more upbeat “Drive”; from the hard-hitting “Too Little Too Late” to the atmospheric and epic “Homegrown”; each track is lyrically engaging and displays an unapologetic unique sound.

The band comments: “We feel we have encapsulated the essence of Empyre in its present guise in these eleven tracks. Subtlety to anthemic. Lyrically, ‘Self-Aware’ is an album with a dark tone, however the tracks conceal positive messages. Musically, we try to hit a point between a soulful, melodic tone, whilst keeping it heavy enough to shake the foundations now and then. We’d describe it as a combination of gritty, sometimes haunting vocals with captivating guitar hooks and solos.”

Formed in 2016, Empyre saw a successful 2018, playing the international HRH Festival – Road To Ibiza and capturing the attention of BBC Introducing, which described the band’s sound as “triumphant, chest beating rock”. Empyre also performed a session for the renowned ‘Whispering’ Bob Harris’ - Under The Apple Tree Sessions”, a privilege usually reserved exclusively for country acts. 

Ahead of the album release, Empyre performed two stand-alone shows in March, before embarking on a full UK rotating headline tour in May, with English rockers Ryders Creed and The Rocket Dolls.

“Self Aware” Track List

1. My Bad

2. Stone

3. New Republic

4. Too Close

5. Just a Ride

6. Drive

7. Only Way Out

8. Cut to the Core

9. Too Little Too Late

10. Something Remains

11. HomegrownUK Tour Dates

Fri 03 May Yardbirds, Grimsby - RPM Takeover Tour 

Sat 04 May Hammer & Anvil, Birmingham - RPM Takeover Tour 

Sun 05 May King Billy Rock Bar, Northampton - RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 10th May Iron Road Bar 57, Pershore - RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 17th May Redrum, Stafford - RPM Takeover Tour

Sat 18th May The Live Rooms, Chester - RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 7th Jun Waterloo, Blackpool - RPM Takeover Tour

Sat 8th Jun Bannermans, Edinburgh - RPM Takeover Tour

Empyre is: Henrik Steenholdt - vocals & rhythm guitar, Did Coles - lead guitar, Grant Hockley - bass – Elliot Bale - drums

“Self Aware” will be self-released on 5th July 2019 

Useful Links:

Website:  HYPERLINK "http://www.empyre.co.uk" www.empyre.co.uk  / Facebook:  HYPERLINK "http://www.facebook.com/EMPYRE" www.facebook.com/EMPYRE  / 

YouTube:  HYPERLINK "http://www.youtube.com/empyrerock" www.youtube.com/empyrerock  / Instagram:  HYPERLINK "http://www.instagram.com/empyrerock" www.instagram.com/empyrerock

Screen Shot 2019-06-26 at 19.42.06.png
Paul Davies